Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google+
white space
white space


Get Response for Your Query
Name :
Email :
Contact No :
Location :
Query Detail :
C. Person : Kumar Ujjwal
Cont. No. : 9868088370
E-Mail ID : info@ujjwalias.in

About CSAT


The Government of India has announced a new pattern of examination to sort out candidates for the Indian Civil Services main examination. The new pattern, to be called the Civil Services Aptitude Test (CSAT), will replace the existing preliminary examination. It will be conducted from the next year. The announcement was made by the Minister of State for personnel Prithvi Raj Chavan after the Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh gave his approval for the introduction of CSAT.  

The proposal for CSAT was submitted last year to the PM’s office by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC). The CSAT will consist of two papers. Both the papers will be of objective type and will focus on the aptitude test for the civil services and the ethical and moral dimensions of decision-making. Unlike the existing preliminary examination, in CSAT both the papers will be common for all and will carry equal weightage. This is understood to be one of the main features of CSAT. In preliminary examination, one paper is common for all the examinee while the second paper is optional where they can choose any one of the given 23 subjects.

Expert committees and panels who had submitted their reports regarding the introduction of CSAT have laid more emphasis on the candidate’s aptitude. They believe that one need not to be a subject specialist to become a good civil servant. The Civil Services examination is carried out by the UPSC in three stages. From 2011 onwards, the first stage will be compromised of CSAT while the second and third stage will remain unchanged. Experts are also reviewing the second and third stages of the examination.

Changes in syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination from 2011 in the scheme of Civil Services Examination

• As per the decision of Government of India, there shall be change in the syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination from 2011 in the scheme of the Civil Services Examination.

• The Preliminary Examination shall now comprise of two compulsory Papers of 200 marks each and of two hours duration each. Detailed below is the new syllabus and pattern of the Preliminary Examination, which is brought to the notice of the prospective candidates intending to appear at the Civil Services Examination (CSE) in 2011 onwards:

  Copyright © UJJWAL IAS ACADEMY | All Rights Reserved Powered By : SLIE  
Site optimized by : TOP SEO LINKS